Refuelling

IMG_4151.JPGAs I lay in my steaming hot bubble bath this evening after a hill session and a cheeky stop off at the pub – I eat my mccoys salt and vinegar crisps, dropping the odd crumb in the water and I start to think about how I can improve my fuelling and refuelling strategies. Β Not only to improve my stomach shituation but I also wonder if I could perform better if I fuelled and refuelled more sensibly. Β Don’t get me wrong, I don’t eat terribly – most of my meals are homemade and healthy but I know full well I shouldn’t be shovelling these crisps in my mouth, I should be eating a peanut butter sandwich or eggs and a bagel, but it’s late – I’m cold and tired so I just want to bath, stretch and get to bed. I’ve already discovered this week that a big meal before training doesn’t work for me and I’ve realised I’m not drinking enough fluids (only had about a litre today) so I’ll wake up in the night thirsty. Now, I’m not even going to waste my time telling you I’m gonna give up crisps or cake – that’s just not going to happen, I love crisps and I love cake but maybe I shouldn’t be eating them on a daily basis. I can’t afford to lose any weight that’s not my aim here, what I do want to do is give my body what it needs to run 4 times a week. This is going to be trial and error so my first step is to increase my fluid intake and begin the eating little and often approach. Perhaps after the weekend I’ll try* to reduce my crisp and cake intake to 2 – 3 times a week and replace this with smaller more frequent meals. I’m interested to see how this can improve both my tummy issues and possibly performance.

*try = there’s no promises here, I can’t help it – they call my name.

Leave a Reply

