Fritton Lake parkrun

So this weekend I’ve been in Norfolk, not wanting to miss out on a parkrun I found the closest one is Fritton Lake. Outside was cold and there was sleet but I hadn’t opened the curtains so by the time we realised it was too late, we were up and ready to go. We found the location and parked up with plenty of time to spare, there’s toilets at the start which is always handy. Being used to Maldon Prom parkrun which tends to attract over 200 runners I was surprised by the small number of attendees (51) and although it didn’t appear as organised as I’m used to, it started at 9am sharp and there were plenty of marshals pointing out where to go. The route was all off road going through some trees incorporating some muddy puddles πŸ˜€ and a gravel footpath, you run alongside the lake looping round some holiday lodges and then coming back on yourself. I really enjoyed it and if this one was closer to home I’d be trying to get there every few weeks, ok it’s not quite the San Francisco setting but the route was really nice and I liked the cross country feel of it. Our lodge had a hot tub so going back to chill out in there and eat my body weight in all the wrong foods was a great way to spend the rest of the day. I’d decided not to run Sunday, I was missing out on a club social run which I was disappointed about and I was tempted to do a long run myself. I’m sure there’s plenty of decent routes in the area but after last weeks half marathon I thought a days rest would do me good. I can’t say I’m very good at having additional rest days but having the hot tub certainly helped and we did get out for a nice long walk & some pub grub.

Leave a Reply

