This Girl Can Essex

I spotted a post on Facebook last week looking to recruit ambassadors for the This Girl Can Essex campaign. It caught my eye and I was keen to find out more information, so I clicked on the link and before I knew it I had emailed the contact to show an interest. This isn’t actually something that I would normally do, whether this is a confidence thing I am not sure, but it would appear over the last few months my confidence has grown and I would put this down to joining Tiptree Road Runners. To give you more information about the campaign this has been taken from the http://www.thisgirlcan.co.uk website “This Girl Can is a celebration of active women who are doing their thing no matter how well they do it, how they look or even how red their face gets. Funded by The National Lottery and developed by Sport England, we want to help women overcome the fear of judgement that is stopping too many women and girls from joining in.” It’s amazing how many people don’t get out there and get involved because they are worried about the opinion of others. I can remember my first attempt at running outside, luckily I had a friend with me because to be honest I doubt I would have got out there alone. It took us quite a few weeks to actually run in places where there was the chance people would spot us, why were we bothered? Why would there be any negative feedback about the fact we are getting out there trying to improve out health and fitness? OK, so we don’t look our best when we are sweaty, red faced and barely able to breath but who cares, I’m pretty sure no one’s looking anyway! I would have to admit that before joining a club myself, I was under the impression that all these clubs consisted of superfast, super fit runners and I wouldn’t be able to keep up. Of course I was concerned I would make a fool out of myself on that first night at training, but it is so not like that! Everyone is so encouraging and we are all there for the same reason – to run. The mixed abilities means that anyone can join in and no one is left to feel like they can’t keep up or they aren’t welcome – this club caters for everyone. At the end of the day we are all trying to improve ourselves – it’s not about anyone else it’s down to you. I am fully behind the This Girl Can campaign and hope to be able to help in the future.

Leave a Reply

