Mental health awareness week

I’ve written and re-written this post so many times, mental health – it’s such a difficult subject to understand and talk about.  Well this week is mental health awareness week and after watching Mind over Marathon I thought it was time to publish this blog.  In one way or another some form of depression or anxiety will affect most of us, whether it’s directly or through a family member or friend – you will be affected.  I have anxiety issues, I’ve have had them for a long time but it’s only recently that I have started to talk about this to family and friends (although it’s probably been obvious to a lot of you).  If I am honest I am still uncomfortable talking about it and I don’t really know why when there have been so many people who have opened up and talked about their own experiences since discussing it myself.  There’s so many people this effects and I think its important for people to realise this.  You are not alone and there really are so many ways to improve your mental health.  According to the Mental Health Foundation, these are the top 10 ways to look after your mental health…

 1.       Talk about your feelings (turns out I do have some….)

 2.       Keep active (Run 😊 )

 3.       Eat well (fuel my runs)

 4.       Drink sensibly (well, I try….)

 5.       Keep in touch with loved ones (always)

 6.       Ask for help (gotta admit this isn’t something I am good at)

 7.       Take a break (I don’t know what this means)

 8.       Do something you’re good at (once I’ve found out what I am good at I’m on it)

 9.       Accept who you are (haven’t got any other option but to)

 10.   Care for others (I do my best)

 “Keep Active” – running is certainly something that helps me with my anxiety, it gives me some time out to myself and helps me process things in my mind.  I love having a focus and running really helps me with that, it has also taken me out of my comfort zone in many ways but this hasn’t been a negative experience. I can do scary things and I can enjoy doing them even when I spend a lot of time worrying about it beforehand.  It also leads on to the eating well, I need to fuel my runs and when I am concentrating on this I eat a lot better.  Even on my hardest days running has been a constant for me, it helps me sleep better, think clearer and gives me a focus.  I also find it’s given me challenges and always in a good way, on some days I feel like I have accomplished something even before I’ve started a race / event.  I would urge anyone who is struggling with their mental health to take note of the above and make the first step to improve this.


Leave a Reply

